Ex Libris

Dutch progressive/symphonic metal band

“A fabulous progressive metal act with mild influences of symphonic and power metal!”


Progressive powerhouse Ex Libris entered the world of heavy metal in 2004. Hailing from the Netherlands, a country known for it’s big and diverse female-fronted scene, they stand out as u unique voice within the genre. Classically trained soprano Dianne van Giersbergen soars and whispers throughout big, bombastic songs that are not only impressive in length, but also in sheer, raw power. There’s ample room for progressive licks, melodies and solo’s next to atmospheric and soothing soundscapes. But make no mistake, they put the pedal to the metal. Pounding double bass drums, furious riffs and frighteningly intense vocals all combine to make Ex Libris a singular force in the world of female-fronted music. Expect full-on musicianship, epic songwriting, extreme dynamics and the full emotional spectrum from one of the most gifted sopranos in The Netherlands.

Read more on the Ex Libris website.

“A sublime trilogy! 10 out of 10 ánd a standing ovation!”

“In three songs, the dutch prog geniuses have taken Anne Boleyn’s story from the books and brought it back to life into the metal scene.”

ANN, a progressive metal trilogy

On the 15th of November 2019 Ex Libris completed their trilogy by releasing the third part “Chapter 3: Anne Frank”. Like the other parts: “Chapter 1: Anne Boleyn” and “Chapter 2: Anastasia Romanova”, also the third part consist of 3 songs with which the band tells the tragic tale of the life and death of its leading lady.

Chapter 1: Anne Boleyn
Sound: Progressive Metal
Status: Released August 2018
Songs: “The Courtship”, “The Miscarriage”, “The Beheading”

Chapter 2: Anastasia Romanova
Sound: Symphonic Metal
Status: Release March 15th 2019!
Songs: “The Motherland”, “The Healer”, “The Exile”

Chapter 3: Anne Frank
Sound: Progressive Symphonic Metal
Status: Released November 15th 2019
Songs: “The Diary”, “The Annex”, “The Raid”

“On “Daughter of Corinth”, Dianne jumps right into the thick of it with her opera A-game!”

The earlier releases

Earlier on the band released 2 full length albums Amygdala (2008) and Medea (2014). Both albums are a nice showcase of how Dianne developped as a singer and story teller. In 2017 the band released a lyric video of the balled taken from the ‘Medea’ album which is titled ‘My Dream I Dream’.